Who We Are - CSV's Governance and Leadership

In the last year, CSV worked with 125,000 volunteers and 5,300 learners, all supported by our staff in offices in London and regional centres throughout the UK.

Where possible we work with other voluntary bodies, government and learning providers to deliver as effective and efficient a service as possible.

Strategic leadership


Lord Levy, CSV PresidentThe Lord Levy, President

Lord Levy was involved in professional practice and then commerce, building up and selling several successful companies. He is also involved in a wide variety of public and communal affairs, deeply rooted in charitable work with abiding interests in the voluntary sector, welfare and education. He is renowned for his fundraising skills and has been described as the number one fundraiser in the UK.

 dividing line image

Sir Jon Shortridge, CSV ChairSir Jon Shortridge, Chair

Sir Jon Shortridge KCB is Chairman of the CSV Council.  He was the Permanent Secretary for Wales for over nine years establishing the National Assembly for Wales. He has also been interim Permanent Secretary at the Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills, and oversaw the transition to the Department for Business Innovation and Skills. He is a Council member of Cardiff University and Honorary Fellow of Aberystwyth University and the University of Wales Institute.

 dividing line image

Lucy de Groot, CSV Chief Executive

Oonagh Aitken, Chief Executive

Oonagh began her career in education and after teaching for eight years she moved into local council, working in management roles within the Education Directorate of Strathclyde Regional Council and holding senior posts in Glasgow City Council and Fife Council. Her work with Local Government Association focused on improving Children’s Services and co-managing the Ageing Well programme. In the mid 2000s, she spent three years at McGill University School of Social Work, teaching social policy and conducting research in First Nations and Inuit communities. She also spent two years in Brussels as part of her role as European Liaison officer at Strathclyde Regional Council, and has considerable European and international experience. Oonagh holds a degree in Modern Languages, a Master's in Educational Administration and a Master's in Art History.



  • Sir Jon Shortridge (Chair)
    Former Permanent Secretary, Welsh Assembly Government
  • Dr. Alison Elliot OBE
    Convener of SCVO
  • Douglas Hill
    Former Group Finance Controller, Post Office
  • David Wilkinson
    Partner, Ernst and Young
  • Matthew Nicholas
    Former Jobcentre Plus Board Director
  • Rolande Anderson
    Independent Non-Executive Director and Trustee
  • Satyen Dhana
    Senior Associate, Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy LLP
  • Mitan Patel
    Independent Non-Executive Director and Trustee

Scottish Advisory Board

  • Dr. Alison Elliot OBE
    Chair and CSV Council Member
  • Matthew Nicholas
    Former Jobcentre Plus Board Director
  • Val Cox
    Former Deputy Director of Children and Families, Scottish Government
  • Councillor Lesley Hinds
    Transport and Environment Convenor at Edinburgh Council
  • Francis Lake
    Lloyds TSB
  • Sheila MacDonald
    Royal Bank of Scotland
  • David Windmill
    Chairman of Scottish Seabird Centre

Advisory Council Members

  • John Pulford MBE (Vice President)
    CSV Chair to December 2009 Chairman, Ex Cathedra
  • Barbara Austin
    Psychotherapist counsellor, CSV service user
  • Martha Burnige
    Associate, Veale Wasbrough Vizards
  • Sir Robert Culpin
    Former Managing Director Budget and Public Finance, HM Treasury
  • Paul Daniels
    Managing Director of Collaborative Working  Leadership and Management
  • David Gibbons MBE DL
    Former Chief Executive, Abbott Laboratories Ltd.
  • Sarah Gordon
    International Company News Editor, Financial Times
  • Sir Alistair Graham
    Chairman, PhonepayPlus
  • Richard Harries
    Deputy Director, Analysis and Innovation, Department for Communities and Local Government
  • Dorothea Hodge
  • Tim Loughton MP
    MP for East Worthing & Shoreham
  • Bob Maggs
    RSVP South West Regional Coordinator & member of the RSVP Advisory Board


  • Laura Marks
    Founder, Mitzvah Day
  • Sir Bert Massie
    Former Chairman of the Disability Rights Commission
  • Archie McAvoy MBE
    Senior Vice President, Lockton Companies LLP.
  • David Mellor
    Business Consultant, Coach and Mentor
  • Carole Milner
    Expert Adviser, Cultural heritage and Crafts sector, former Head of Returned Volunteer Programmes, VSO
  • Madeleine Moon MP
    MP for Bridgend
  • Joyce Ohajah
    ITV Newscaster
  • Dr. Kate Simpson PhD
    Trainer, Impact Development Training Group
  • Phylida Stewart Roberts CVO OBE
    Former Lord Lieutenant of East Sussex
  • Carole Tongue
    Former MEP, Associate Director, Sovereign Strategy; Chair, UK Independent Film Parliament; Visiting Professor, University of the Arts
  • Derek Tullett CBE Hon DSc
    International finance